Douro Demarcated Region

The Douro Demarcated Region (RDD) extends along the Douro River and its tributaries in an extension of about 250,000 hectares between Barqueiros and Barca d’Alva.

This region has its origins in the territorial delimitation of 1756, the date of the first demarcation of the “Vinhos do Alto Douro”, which defined the first institutional model of organization of a wine region worldwide.

Originally established to regulate the production of fortified wine that we call “Port wine”, today the RDD circumscribes the Controlled Denomination of Origin (DOC) for Port and Douro wines. In 2001 it was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage list.

Get to know more by clicking in here.

Mapa da Região demarcada do Douro - Vinhos
Douro - Map of Portugal

A Located in the northeast of Portugal, in the Douro hydrographic basin, surrounded by mountains that give it particular mesological and climatic characteristics, the region extends over a total area of about 250,000 hectares, dividing into 3 sub-regions: Baixo Corgo, Cima Corgo and Douro Superior, due to factors such as socio-economic, climatic, among others.

Wine Characteristics - Douro Region

There are 3 main types of Douro wine, in addition to Port Wine and Moscatel, which are Red, White and Rosé Wine.

In the production of red wines, indigenous varieties are used, such as Touriga Franca, Touriga Nacional, Tinta Roriz (Aragonez), Tinta Barroca and Tinto Cão. , which give them a more characteristic profile of the Douro. There are also good mono-caste wines, produced only from one grape variety, mainly from the first 3 mentioned above, respectively.

In the production of white wines, in turn, dry wines are produced by blending several grape varieties: Gouveio, Rabigato, Viosinho and Malvasia Fina.

Each of these wines can be young or aged wine.